Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

CEH Certified Ethical Hacker FAQs

SecureNinja's course, bootcamp & certification training

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) was created by EC-Council to certify that the IT professional has the knowledge and skills needed to perform vulnerability scans to detect weaknesses in the target system to access important secured systems like networks, applications, and databases. The CEH certified professional will use the same knowledge and skills as Malicious hackers to detect weaknesses but under a lawful and legitimate manner. Unlike Malicious Hackers, a CEH certified professional will operate with the authorization of the system owners and ensure all outcomes remain private.

No, the CEH certification is an intermediate level certification.

No, the CEH certification is an intermediate level certification.

The CEH certification is considered as the benchmark for ethical hackers and an introductory course into Ethical hacking. It will provide an in-demand set of skills by offering in-depth understanding of hacking concepts and showcase how malicious hackers think and act to better prepare the IT professional to set up security infrastructures and create defense plans with the goal to reduce the system owner’s risk.

Yes, the CEH certification is the leading certification for Penetration testing and meets the requirements of DoD 8570 and 8140.

Yes, the CEH certification meets ISO 17024 standards and meets the DoD 8570.01-M requirements

You must successfully complete the CEH certification exam.

No, there are no prerequisites to take the CEH training course.

According to Zip Recruiter, the average salary for a CEH certified professional is $104,813.

With the CEH certification you can apply for positions such as IT Security Administrator, Cyber Defense Analyst, Vulnerability Assessment Analyst, Jr. Penetration Tester, and Manual Ethical Hacker.

Yes, you must have enrolled and completed an official CEH certification training course from EC-Council or one of their accredited partners. If you have chosen to
“self-study”, you must complete EC-Council’s exam eligibility process to receive approval to take the CEH exam. 

The CEH exam will have a total of 125 questions.

You will have 4 hours to complete the CEH exam.

The minimum passing score need to pass the CEH exam is 70%.

EC Council has different pricing options for the CEH exam. Candidates who have opted to “self-study” and wish to take the exam, will need an approval from EC-Council through their Exam eligibility process. This option will require a $100 application fee and the exam will cost $950. For candidates who have completed the official CHFI training course through EC-Council or an accredited partner of theirs and wish to take the exam, are required to purchase the CEH exam voucher for $950 but are not required to pay the $100 application fee. For additional cost discounts (bundle pricing with training) on exam voucher or questions, please contact the Secure Ninja Sales Team.

You can take the CEH at an ECC Exam Centre or at a local Pearson VUE testing center.

Yes, you can choose to take your CEH exam online.

Yes, you will first need to call EC-Council and let them know whether you want to reschedule or cancel your exam. For rescheduling, EC-Council will need to extend your voucher, so it doesn’t expire. For cancelations, EC-Council will not be able to refund your money.

The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council, is the world’s largest cybersecurity technical certification body, the member-based organization certifies individuals in various e-business and information security skills.  Having trained and certified over 200,000 information security professionals globally, EC-Council goal to validate information security professionals who are equipped with the skills and knowledge required in a specialized information security domain that will help them avoid cyber conflicts and influence the cyber security mindset of organizations worldwide.

Back To CEH Certified Ethical Hacker