Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

ECIH - EC Council Certified Incident Handler FAQs

SecureNinja's course, bootcamp & certification training

The EC-Council Certified Incident Handler (ECIH) certification was created by EC-Council to ensure that the IT professional has the knowledge and skills to systematically handle and respond to different types of Cyber Security incidents to an organization. Whether the disaster was a result of a malicious attacker or human-induced mistakes, the ECIH professional will ensure that the organization effected can identify, contain, and recover from an attack.  The ECIH certification also demonstrates the proper approach to restore regular operations of the organization and mitigate the negative impact from the business operations. To reduce the risk of another attack, ECIH professionals will draft security policies to ensure quality of service is maintained at the agreed levels.

Yes, the ECIH certification is an advanced-level certification

No, the ECIH certification is not an entry-level certification.

 No organization is safe from cyberattacks and as more businesses make the digital transformation, professionals with Incident handling and response experience will be highly sought after.

Yes, ECIIH certification provides incident handling skills and knowledge mapped to industry standard frameworks such as NICE and CREST.

You must successfully complete the ECIH certification.

No, there are no prerequisites to enroll in a ECIH training course.

According to Zip Recruiter’s website, the average salary for a ECIH certified professional is $110,972.

With a ECIH certification you can apply for positions such as Vulnerability Assessment Auditors, Risk Assessment Administrators, Application Security Engineers, Cyber Forensic Investigators/Analyst and SOC Analyst, etc.

Yes, you must have enrolled and completed an official ECIH certification training course from EC-Council or one of their accredited partners. If you have chosen to “self-study”, you must complete EC-Council’s exam eligibility process to receive approval to take the ECIH exam. 

No, the ECIH exam will be entirely in multiple choices questions. 

You will have 3 hours to complete the ECIH exam.

Due to EC- Council providing the exam in various forms by randomizing question banks, the minimum passing score can range from 60%-85%.

EC Council has different pricing options for the ECIH exam. Candidates who have opted to “self-study” and wish to take the exam, will need an approval from EC-Council through their Exam eligibility process. This option will require a $100 application fee and the exam will cost $950. For candidates who have completed the official CHFI training course through EC-Council or an accredited partner of theirs and wish to take the exam, are required to purchase the CHFI exam voucher for $950 but are not required to pay the $100 application fee. For additional cost discounts (bundle pricing with training) on exam voucher or questions, please contact the Secure Ninja Sales Team.

Yes, you can take the ECIH exam through the EC-council Exam Portal.

Yes, you will first need to call EC-Council and let them know whether you want to reschedule or cancel your exam. For rescheduling, EC-Council will need to extend your voucher, so it doesn’t expire. For cancelations, EC-Council will not be able to refund your money.

The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council, is the world’s largest cybersecurity technical certification body, the member-based organization certifies individuals in various e-business and information security skills.  Having trained and certified over 200,000 information security professionals globally, EC-Council goal to validate information security professionals who are equipped with the skills and knowledge required in a specialized information security domain that will help them avoid cyber conflicts and influence the cyber security mindset of organizations worldwide.

Back To ECIH - EC Council Certified Incident Handler