Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

CHFI - Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator FAQs

SecureNinja's course, bootcamp & certification training

The Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI) certification was created by EC-Council to certify the IT professional possesses the skills to identify an intruders’ footprints through conducting an effective forensic investigation. To detect hacking attacks and properly extract evidence, the CHFI certified professional will check data residing in computer systems, recovering deleted, encrypted, or damaged file information. With the evidence collected the CHFI certified professional will determine whether to prosecute in the court of law.

Yes, the CHFI is an advanced-level certification.

No, the CHFI is not an entry level certification.

The CHFI certification shows IT professionals how to use technologies to perform effective investigations using the latest digital forensic tools and updates.

Yes, the CHFI certification is the only comprehensive ANSI accredited, lab-focused program in the market that gives organizations vendor-neutral training in digital forensics. IT professionals will gain a firm grasp of digital forensics, presenting a detailed and methodological approach to digital forensics and evidence analysis.

Yes, the CHFI certification meets ISO standards and fulfils DoD requirements.

You must purchase an CHFI exam voucher and successfully take the CHFI exam.

No, there are of no prerequisites to enroll in the CHFI training class, but it is recommended to have prior knowledge of IT/Cyber security, computer forensics, and incident response, and threat vectors.

According to Pay Scale’s website, the average salary for a CHFI certified professional is $97,000.

With the CHFI certification, you can apply for positions such as Forensic Computer Analyst, Intelligence Technology Analyst, Disaster Recovery Expert, Malware Analyst, Computer Forensics Technician, Information Systems Security Professional, etc.

Yes, you must have enrolled and completed an official CHFI certification training course from EC-Council or one of their accredited partners. If you have chosen to

“self-study”, you must complete EC-Council’s exam eligibility process to receive approval to take the CHFI exam. 

You must have at least 2 years of Information Security work experience, background in digital security specialization, submit $100 non-refundable eligibility application fee, complete and submit EC-Council Exam Eligibility Form, and purchase CHFI exam voucher upon approval.

The CHFI exam will have 150 multiple choice questions.

You will have a maximum of 4 hours to complete the CHFI exam.

The minimum passing score on the CHFI exam is 70%.

EC Council has different pricing options for the CHFI exam. Candidates who have opted to “self-study” and wish to take the exam, will need an approval from EC-Council through their Exam eligibility process. This option will require a $100 application fee and the exam will cost $950. For candidates who have completed the official CHFI training course through EC-Council or an accredited partner of theirs and wish to take the exam, are required to purchase the CHFI exam voucher for $950 but are not required to pay the $100 application fee. For additional cost discounts (bundle pricing with training) on exam voucher or questions, please contact the Secure Ninja Sales Team.

You can take the CHFI exam through the ECC Exam Centre.

Yes, you can take the CHFI exam online through the ECC exam portal.

Yes, you will first need to call EC-Council and let them know whether you want to reschedule or cancel your exam. For rescheduling, EC-Council will need to extend your voucher, so it doesn’t expire. For cancelations, EC-Council will not be able to refund your money.

The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council, is the world’s largest cybersecurity technical certification body, the member-based organization certifies individuals in various e-business and information security skills.  Having trained and certified over 200,000 information security professionals globally, EC-Council goal to validate information security professionals who are equipped with the skills and knowledge required in a specialized information security domain that will help them avoid cyber conflicts and influence the cyber security mindset of organizations worldwide.

Back To CHFI - Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator