Government & DoD

Government & DoD 8570.01-M Training & Certification

The DoD 8570.01-M Has Been Replaced By The DoD 8140.01
click here to visit the new DoD 8140.01 page


SecureNinja has had wide ranging success delivering cybersecurity training to both state and federal government customers. SecureNinja has multiple partner relationships with prime vendors to deliver training services to the federal government. 

DoD 8570.01-M Directive Training Courses

SecureNinja offers training classes that can help you prepare for and become compliant with the DoD 8570.01-M Directive, Information Assurance certification.

What is the DoD 8570.01-M?

The DoD 8570.1-M Directive is also known as the Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program. The Department of Defense passed a regulation stating that all Information Assurance personnel must become compliant with the mandated IT and Security certification standards within a certain time frame. There are various levels of compliance based on the level of job function. The most common certifications included in the DoD Directive 8570.01 include A+, Network+, Security+, CEH and CISSP. 

* Important *    DoD 8570  is evolving to the DoD 8140

In 2013 DoDD 8570 will become DoDD 8140. We will keep you updated as more information on the DoD 8140 becomes available.

Baseline Level Requirements

Technical Level
Level I Level II Level III
A+ Security+ CISSP
Network+ SSCP CISA
Management Level
Level I Level II Level III
Other: GISF, GSLC Other: GSLC Other:GSLC
Computer Network Defense (CND) Certifications
Analyst Infrastructure Support Incident Responder Auditor SP-Manager
Information Assurance System Architecture and Engineering (IASAE) Certifications
Level I Level II Level III

8570.1 Computing Environment Level Requirements

In addition to the baseline IA certification requirement for their level listed above the DoD 8570.1 mandate states IATs with privileged access must obtain appropriate Computing Environment (CE) certifications for the operating system(s) and/or security related tools/devices they support as required by their employing organization. (e. g. Microsoft certifications for Microsoft systems support technicians, Cisco certifications for Cisco technicians, Linux Certifications for Linux technicians or the specific system the IAT is spending most of his or her time supporting) This requirement ensures they can effectively apply IA requirements to their hardware and software systems.
IAT Level I IAT Level II IAT Level III
Microsoft Microsoft Microsoft
MCTS and MCITP: Windows 7 Configuration and Desktop Support Technician MCITP: 2008 Server Administrator MCITP: 2008 Enterprise & Server Administrator

MCITP: 2008 Server Administrator
Cisco Cisco Cisco
CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) CCNP(Cisco Certified Network Professional)
Linux+ Linux+ Linux+
  Oracle 10G DBA  

In summary, the Directive's objectives are:

  • Establish standards where Information Assurance (IA) personnel obtain a uniform level of competency with regard to DoD information and networks.
  • Standardize the minimum skill level for all Information Assurance personnel throughout the Department of Defense.
  • Provide qualified IA Workforce members to the soldiers that need them
  • Creation of a set of formal training requirements and establishment of certification programs
  • Increase the knowledge base of every IA Workforce team member through education and / or experience

Training for the DoD Directive 8570

Part of the regulation is that the agency will help pay for training in preparation for the certifications. We are an approved school to offer training for this Directive and we offer regular open enrollment classes in:

  • CompTIA A+
  • CompTIA Network+
  • CompTIA Security+
  • Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

DoD 8570 Training Pricing Structures

Contact us for more information about group or multiple enrollment training for the DoD 8570 certification exams. Group discounted rates are available.

In addition to our open enrollment schedule, we also offer on-site corporate classes for your organization or group.

SecureNinja Computer Training 

Business Structure: Small Business (LLC)

  • Instye LLC dba SecureNinja

Program Models:

  • Accelerated Instructor-led BootCamps
  • Instructor-led Evening and Weekend Courses
  • Dedicated On-Site Courses
  • Client Specific Curriculum
  • Live Online Training
  • Self-paced e-Learning Online courses


Washington DC Metro Area (Corporate Office in Alexandria, VA)

Class Size:            

Classes average 5-20 attendees

Government Info:

  • CCR Cage Code: 308C6
  • DUNS #:16-709-5418
  • EIN: 20-0161099

          NAICS Codes:

  • 611410 – Business and Secretarial Schools
  • 611420 – Computer Training
  • 611519 – Other Technical and Trade Schools
  • 611430 – Professional and Management Development Training
  • 611710 - Educational Support Services
  • 611691 - Exam Preparation and Tutoring

    PSC Codes:
  • U001 Lectures for Training
  • U008 Training/Curriculum Development
  • U012 Information Training